Spear Maiden clarification!

Greetings,

I am currently trying to create a Spear Maiden characer (from The Northland Complete Saga book, page 51) in the TOS+ character manager tool. Now, reading the class, it says that the Master of the Spear 2 ability replaces both the heavy armor proficiency and the Lay on Hands abilities.

So far so good. But what happends to this Paladin Archetype at 4th level, when it gains Channel Energy? Normally, a Paladin's Channel Energy ability is fueled by his Lay on Hands ability:

When a paladin reaches 4th level, she gains the supernatural ability to channel positive energy like a cleric. Using this ability consumes two uses of her lay on hands ability.

So am I to assume that the Spear Maiden also loses the Channel Energy ability? Is there an errata somewhere that fixes this situation? Did I miss something?

THANKS for the help!

RiTz21

 

 

Hey RiTz21

That was poorly worded on our part. Sorry. It is correct that the spear maiden loses access to the use of her lay on hands ability. However, she would still acrue the number of uses of it normally to use channel energy.

In essence she loses the healing of the lay on hands but it still dictates the number of times she can use channel energy. We definitely should have made that clearer.

Greg